Development during Post-Independence Period

In post independent period Chopra committee was constituted in 1947 for the revival and development of Indian System of Medicine including Ayurveda. The committee recommended integrated development of Ayurveda along with the establishment of post graduate institutions and research in 1948. On the basis of recommendations made by Chopra Committee, another committee was constituted under the chairmanship of Dr C.G.Pandit then Director of ICMR.  Following its recommendations, a Centre for the Research in Indigenous Medicine was established at Jamnagar in1952 under the Directorship of Dr Pran Jivan Mehta. In 1956, this was upgraded as a Postgraduate Centre for Ayurveda. Dave Committee (1955) and Udupa Committee (1958) constituted by Govt. of India  led to the formation of Central Council for Research in Indian Medicine and Homoeopathy (CCRIMH) and Postgraduate institutions all over India. Subsequently CCRIMH was divided into four research councils, viz., Central Council for Research in Ayurveda and Siddha (CCRAS), Central Council for Research in Unani Medicine (CCRUM), Central Council for Research in Homoeopathy (CCRH) and Central Council for Research in Yoga and Naturopathy (CCRYN). Again the CCRAS was bifurcated. Siddha system of medicine was given independent status as Central Council for Research in Siddha (CCRS) was established with it’s headquarter at Chennai.  Presently the research council of Ayurveda is called as Central Council for Research in Ayurvedic Sciences (CCRAS).

  • PUBLISHED DATE : May 06, 2015
  • LAST UPDATED ON : May 06, 2015


Write your comments

This question is for preventing automated spam submissions